RSS Feed

Lighter Chocolate Pudding

Everytime my friend Mr. M comes over for dinner my healthy eat plans go out the window. This weekend I decided I would make a healthier dessert and found this in my Pinterest folders. It looked yummy and easy enough to  make. I made it while Mr. M took the little miss to the park for a while to play while I prepared dinner. I think the instructions could be a bit clearer. You need to get the milk mixture quite hot in order to cook the cornstarch and thicken the pudding. 1 1/2 minutes wasn’t enough for me. On the electric burner it took about 5 minutes. I let them cool a few minutes before I put them in the fridge. We took them out almost exactly 2 hours later and the edges were firmer than the centre so I’d give it at least 2 1/2 hours to chill. I also couldn’t find the hazelnut chocolate so I used dark baking chocolate and it turned out great. No one would ever guess it was a lighter recipe. I think I’ll head down to the Italian grocery sometime soon to see if I can find the Gianduja chocolate the try making this again. I have a feeling it would be out of this world! Mmmm…Nutella pudding! I’m glad I didn’t know sooner just how easy it is to make homemade pudding. This could be dangerous.

pudding_spoon_web

Chocolate-Hazelnut Pudding

2 tablespoon cornstarch
2 cups 2 percent milk
3 ounces gianduja (hazelnut-flavored dark chocolate), broken into small pieces
2 tablespoon sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt

Stir cornstarch with 1/2 cup of the milk in a bowl until cornstarch completely dissolves. Heat remaining 1 1/2 cups milk, chocolate, sugar and salt in a small saucepan over medium-low heat, whisking occasionally, until chocolate melts. Raise heat to medium; cook, whisking occasionally, until almost boiling (steam will rise from the surface). Stir cornstarch-milk mixture again until smooth; add to saucepan in a thin stream, constantly whisking. Bring pudding to a simmer, continuing to whisk. Simmer, constantly whisking, 1 1/2 minutes more. Pour pudding into a bowl or four 5-ounce cups; press plastic wrap against the surface of pudding to prevent a skin from forming. Refrigerate at least 2 hours. Serve cold.

Nutritional analysis per serving: 229 calories, 11.8 g fat (5 g saturated), 0.5 g fiber, 24.3 g carbs, 6.5 g protein
Nutritional analysis provided by Self

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. Wow! This recipe looks so delicious and super easy! My three year old son has been asking for chocolate pudding again, after he had some during a playdate recently. I almost bought some instant pudding mix this weekend but was shocked as the amount of chemicals and things artificial in the ingredients list. This pudding recipe will be a delicious option for my family. I will try it out soon. Thanks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

