RSS Feed

The BEST Chocolate Cupcakes and Swiss Meringue Buttercream Icing

The BEST Chocolate Cupcakes and Swiss Meringue Buttercream Icing

I thought I’d share a little about me and my food history, because I must admit I’m not a true foodie, I’m a baker at heart. When I was in my twenties I would eat practically anything low fat or low carb for my meals and then give in and splurge on chocolate to complete the rest of my caloric intake!  If I was bored, or lonely or craving more chocolate I would bake.  “Real” food was secondary to me, until I began thinking about starting a family. I couldn’t feed my child Lean Cuisines and weird low-fat rice concoctions; I had to learn how to cook normal meals and resolve my warped relationship with food. Since then I’ve gained about 15lbs and a new outlook on food. It’s not just sustenance vs. decadence but a healthier balance of the two. So, my point is…I’m still learning to cook. I’m glad you could join me on my misadventures. 🙂

After a trip to Buttercup Bake Shop in New York 4 years ago I became obsessed with cupcakes – the perfect chocolate cupcake to be exact. I think I found it. Here’s a little treat from my baking repertoire.

Hershey’s Chocolate Cake
Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Swiss Meringue Buttercream.

P.S. Please excuse the lack of decent photographs. I busted my camera and still have to learn the ins and outs of the camera a friend gave me as a replacement. I should have something pleasant to look at in a few days if my daughter’s possible teething doesn’t foil my plans yet again 😉 Stay tuned.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: National Chocolate Cupcake Day! | Heather's Homemade

  2. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

