RSS Feed

Small Batch Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Milk Chocolate Ganache Icing

If you’re like me and you have tiny addiction problem when it comes to cupcakes you’re probably interested in small batch recipes which enable you to enjoy in moderation (instead of baking 24 cupcakes and eating them all yourself like I have been known to do *blush* I freeze some, by the way). I’ve tried those “cake in a cup” recipes and they’ve turned out too rubbery for me. Usually it’s because it calls for a whole egg for just one serving of cake, which is definitely too much. I wanted to know if I could make cake without having to use the egg.  My search for “eggless cake” brought me to allrecipes.com and a recipe for “Vegan Chocolate Cake”. The reaction between the white vinegar and the baking soda causes the cake to rise and the vinegar isn’t noticeable in the final product. The cupcakes turn out rich and moist and no one would ever guess they were vegan! The best part is, you can adjust the recipe to any serving size and you don’t have to worry about dividing eggs. 4 cake servings is equal to 6 cupcakes. I haven’t tried making a one cup serving yet but I’m sure it would work.

Last night I had a hankering for chocolate cupcakes but I didn’t want to go through the trouble of making my famous Chocolate Swiss Meringue Buttecream Icing. I’ve seen examples of chocolate ganache icing and thought I would give it a try. I wondered if I could make it with milk chocolate and would it result in sweeter and less intense icing. I found a recipe on foodnetwork.ca and gave it a try. Holy chocolaty goodness Batman! I didn’t have quite enough milk chocolate on hand so I used roughly 2 parts milk chocolate to 1 part semi-sweet and it turned out rich and delicious. It says to chill the ganache overnight before whipping but I couldn’t wait so I put a couple of servings in a metal bowl and stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes. It worked just fine. I may have a new favourite icing recipe!

Oh, and on the blogging front, I think I’m getting the hang of the new/old camera and used the cupcake as my guinea pig subject matter. Enjoy!

Small Batch Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes (makes 6)

Ingredients

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon distilled white vinegar
1/2 cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Add the oil, vanilla, vinegar and water. Mix together until smooth.
Pour into prepared cupcake liners and bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 18 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

Milk Chocolate Ganache Icing

Makes approximately 2 cups.

Ingredients

1 cup heavy cream (250 mL)
1/2 pound milk chocolate, finely chopped (250 g)

Directions

In a pot over high heat bring the cream to a boil.
Remove from the heat and stir in the chocolate.
Stir rapidly until all the chocolate has melted and the mixture is a smooth, even colour.
Cool to room temperature, stirring occasionally.
Cover and refrigerate overnight.
Whip the Ganache in a chilled bowl until stiff peaks form. Do not overwhip, as the Ganache may split.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Pingback: Small Batch Vanilla Cupcakes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

