RSS Feed

Waffles and Butterscotch Sauce

I think I love cooking because it’s like magic. One minute you have such innocuous ingredients as flour, sugar, cream and butter laying around in your kitchen and 30 minutes later you can have something so delicious it blows your mind! On the weekend I decided to make waffles, have some for breakfast and freeze the rest for later in the week. After they’ve been frozen you can take them out and pop them in your toaster a couple of times to reheat, just like an Eggo waffle, only better! I’ve tried a couple of recipes over the years and my good ol’ Betty Crocker recipe still holds up. What’s been missing from some other recipes is this step: cook them until no steam is rising from your waffle iron. With my iron that’s about 8 minutes. The recipe yields about 8 waffles and I topped my first batch with real maple syrup and homemade whipped cream. Delish!

Today I decided to make them dessert style. I had heavy 35% cream leftover so I needed to do something with it before it expired. I went back to the Betty Crocker cookbook and found a recipe for butterscotch sauce. My my goodness – almost as good as homemade caramel sauce but way easier! So I topped my waffles with homemade whipped cream and the this sauce.

Waffles

2 large eggs
2 cups flour
1 3/4 cups milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil*
1 tbsp granulated or brown sugar
4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt

Heat waffle iron
Beat eggs in large bowl with hand beater or wire whisk until fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients just until smooth. ( I start with liquids then add dry)
Pour a scant 2/3 cup batter from cup or pitcher in to centre of waffle iron. (Check manufacturers directions for recommended amount of batter.) Close lid of waffle iron and keep closed. Bake for about 5 minutes or until steaming stops. Carefully remove waffle and serve immediately. Repeat with remaining batter.

*melted butter or margarine can be substituted

Butterscotch Sauce

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
6 tbsp butter or stick margarine
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream (35% cream)
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients together except vanilla in a 2 quart saucepan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until butter is melted and sugars are dissolved.
Increase heat to medium; heat to boiling, stirring constantly. Boil gently for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally; remove from heat. Cool 20 minutes.
Stir in vanilla. Serve sauce warm or cool. Store covered in refrigerator up to 10 days. Sauce becomes firm when refrigerated. Heat slightly before serving (sauce will become thin if over heated.)

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Pingback: Brunch Menu Planning | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

