RSS Feed

Chinese Food – Fast Food Style

I got a new camera yesterday so I thought I’d try it out. I’m still getting used to it, but I’m not really liking it. The lens isn’t correct for taking true macro shots so things that are closer to you, look huge. It really bothers me.  That egg roll was normal sized but in this pic it looks like a pop tart or calzone! lol I’m trying to decide if I should take the camera back and try to find another one. I can’t afford a really nice one so if anyone has suggestions on a reasonably priced camera that will take nice food shots, drop me a note.

In regards to the recipes, I’ve made chinese food a couple of times now with my sister back in Labrador. She’s the chinese food queen and I can only hope to make my egg rolls as fabulous as hers. They truly are the best I’ve ever had, but she doesn’t use a recipe anymore so I can’t cheat and use hers. She gave me an ingredient list but no measurements so I turned to allrecipes.com for something to use as a guideline. I modified it a little adding soy sauce and egg as recommended by my sister. The recipe I found says it makes 8 egg rolls but I got 11 out of it.

The chicken ball recipe she uses, she found on the internet as well. It calls for 4 chicken breasts but I found it too be too much so I modified it to use 3 instead. It makes A LOT of chicken balls so I’m freezing some of the leftovers. The fried rice recipe is from C.I. cookbook and I didn’t have any bean sprouts so I used minced carrot instead. Also didn’t have any scallion on hand so I added a half a yellow onion and it was yummy.

My housesitter buddy came over and he loved everything.  I sent him home with tupperwares full of leftovers.  If you’re looking for something fun for the family or a unique idea for a dinner party, give these a try!  🙂

Chicken Balls

3 cubed chicken breasts

1 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup put aside

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

2 eggs

3/4 cup milk

2 tsp oil

Heat oil to 375 degrees. Cut up chicken breasts in 1 inch cubes and set aside. Mix together 1 cup of white flour with the baking powder, salt, pepper. Add the 2 eggs and the milk. Mix all together well. Take the chicken pieces and dip them in the 1/4 cup of flour, then dip into this batter to coat the chicken. Fry the chicken pieces in hot cooking oil until browned on all sides, about 3-4 minutes. Remove from oil  and drain on paper towel before serving with cherry sauce.

 

Egg Rolls

1 pound ground pork

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 cups shredded cabbage

1-2 shredded carrots

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 egg

8 (7 inch square) egg roll wrappers

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons water

1 quart peanut oil for frying

Fry first 6 ingredients together until pork is cooked through and no longer pink. Remove from heat and mix in egg. Set aside.

In another large skillet heat oil to about 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) or medium high heat. While oil is heating, combine flour and water in a bowl until they form a paste.

Place about a 1/4 to 1/3 cup of the pork mixture on won ton wrapper, wet fingers with paste and apply to borders of the wrapper. Fold top and bottom over the mixture and then fold sides in, sealing with more paste.

Place egg rolls into heated oil and fry, turning occasionally, until golden brown,about 3-4 minutes. Remove from oil and drain on paper towels or rack.

 

 

Fried Rice with Peas and Bean Sprouts

1/4 cup oyster sauce

1 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp oil

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup of frozen peas, thawed

3 garlic cloves, minced

6 cups of cold, cooked rice (I used 4 instead and it was a good balance of rice to veggies)

1 cup of bean sprouts

5 scallions, thinly sliced

Combine oyster sauce and soy sauce in small bowl and set aside.

Heat 1 1/2 tbsp oil in 12 inch non-stick skillte over medium heat until shimmering. Add eggs and cook without stirring, until they are just beginning to set, about 20 seconds. Scramble and break into small pieces with wooden spoon; continue to cook stirring constantly until eggs are cooked through but not browned, about 1 min longer. Transfer eggs to small bowl and set aside.

Add remaining 2 1/2 tbsp oil and heat over medium heat until shimmering. Add peas and cook, stirring constantly about 30 seconds. Stir in garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds, Add rice and oyster sauce mixture and cook, stirring constantly and breaking up riced clumps, until mixture is heated through, about 3 minutes. Add eggs, bean sprouts, and scallions and cook, stirring constantly, until heated thorough, about 1 minute. Serve immmediately.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

