RSS Feed

Fish Cakes and Tartar Sauce

Yummy but…yet again I’ve made one too many substitutions and the fish cake recipe did not work out for me. I used defrosted sole instead of fresh salmon in this recipe. The fish let out too much moisture and the cakes became too wet, and would not stick together properly. The whole batch was transformed into fish stuffing instead of fish cakes – but it was yummy fish stuffing! lol I won’t bother providing the recipe until I make it as directed.

The tartar sauce I made exactly as written in the C.I. cookbook and it was delicious. I’ve had homemade tartar sauce made for me with mayo and relish but this recipe called for shallot, capers, and worcestershire sauce which made for a multi-layered flavour medley. 🙂 It keeps for a week in the fridge so I guess I’ll be eating lots more fish for the next few days.

Sweet and Tangy Tartar Sauce

2/3 cup mayonnaise

1/2 shallot, minced

2 tbsp capers, rinsed and minced

2 tbsp sweet pickle relish

1 1/2 tsp white vinegar

1/2 tsp worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp pepper

Mix all together, cover and let sit 15 minutes to blend flavours. Can be refrigerated for up to a week.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

