RSS Feed

Two-Minute Mug Brownie

ImageSome of you that know me personally know that a couple of summers ago the doctor told me I had high cholesterol. 😦 When I had my blood taken I was just coming off a major cupcake binge so I blame the buttercream icing. With all the baking I’ve been doing again lately, I realize I have to take things down a notch or my doctor will be giving me a lecture. I need to find ways of enjoying treats without going overboard on portions or bad fats. That’s why I’m looking for one serving size desserts and desserts made without a lot of butter or eggs. I remember coming across this on Pinterest – it’s a site that has 10 recipes for cake in a mug! 10 Tasty Mug Cakes I want to try a few of them, This is actually the brownie recipe I found on the same site but it’s egg free as well and doesn’t need icing.  After 1 minute it looked a little raw on the top so I zapped it for an extra 20 seconds or so but I probably didn’t need to. It was well cooked on the inside. I should have made it in the ramekin instead of the giant coffee mug. Next time Gadget…next time. Taste wise it did the trick and nixed my chocolate cupcake craving. I’m also working on developing healthier icings, so stay tuned.

Two-Minute Mug Brownie

Adapted from Instructables.com

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Pinch salt

2 Tbsp canola or other mild vegetable oil

2 Tbsp milk, coffee or water

In a heatproof mug or ramekin, stir together the dry ingredients until no lumps remain. Stir in the oil and milk until you have a thick paste.

Microwave on high for a minute, checking it after 30 seconds (microwaves vary) – it will be done when it’s springy on top but still a bit gooey – like the very best brownie. Eat warm.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

