RSS Feed

Homemade Wunderbars

The final product.

 The peanut butter “logs”. Let’s face it, they don’t look very appetizing at this point.

Adding the caramel and then the chocolate. Messy work but starting to resemble chocolate bars.

Well I’m excited to introduce my very first food creation that I’ve come up with on my own! I’ve seen so many cool recipes on Pinterest for homemade chocolate bars but I’ve never seen one for Wunderbars. It turns out Wunderbars are Canadian. When I Googled “wunderbar recipe” I got nothing. So…this may very well be the only homemade Wunderbar recipe on the web! I started with half a basic buckeye recipe, added rice krispies, topped with melted caramels and milk chocolate, and voila – homemade chocolaty, caramely, peanut buttery goodness!

Homemade Wunderbars

Filling:

3/4 cup Creamy Peanut Butter

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

1-1/2 cups powdered sugar, or as needed

2/3 cup Rice Krispies, crushed by putting in ziploc bag and squashing with bottom of glass

Caramel topping:

12 caramels

3 tsp of cream

Chocolate topping:

200g of milk chocolate (about 4 Dairy Milk bars, or a bit more)

Combine peanut butter, butter, vanilla and salt in large bowl. Beat with an electric mixer on LOW until blended. Add 1 cup powdered sugar, beating until blended. Beat in additional powdered sugar until mixture, when shaped into a ball, will stay on a toothpick. Crush Rice Krispies and add to mixture. Tear dough in half, then halve those and halve again to make 8 pieces. Roll into logs. Place on parchment paper lined cookie sheet and put in the refrigerator while making the caramel topping.

Unwrap caramels and place in small saucepan over medium low heat, add the cream and melt, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, cool for a couple of minutes. Pour about 1 tsp of caramel over top of the peanut butter logs. Put back in the fridge while you melt the chocolate topping.

Temper your chocolate. For small batches like this, melt the chocolate in a bowl over a saucepan of hot water until it reaches 115 degrees. Set the bowl in a bowl of cool water. Stir often until the chocolate cools to 80 degrees, about 3-5 minutes. Set the bowl back into the saucepan of hot water and heat until it reaches 90 degrees.

When chocolate has been tempered, put a strip of chocolate along the parchment paper, the same length and about a third of the width of your peanut butter log. Place the log on top of the chocolate and cover with more chocolate. Do this for all 8 logs. Refrigerate until firm, about 45minutes. Once set they can be refrigerated or frozen.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

6 responses »

  1. I just wanted to chime in here as I made these last night. Thank you so much for posting this up!! Upon eating, both my wife and I agreed that they were very, very close to a Wunderbar! There is one confusing part to the writeup. The ingredients list says 1.5cups powdered sugar. The directions talk about 2 cups plus some more. I used 1 cup to do the intital blending beating, and added 0.5 to thicken it up. So basically the directions need to be updated to match the ingredient list. I think next time I will make 16 half bars, and dip them in the tempered chocolate rather than pouring it onto the bars Thanks again a million!

    Reply
    • Hi Kevin, it is a typo – thanks for catching that! I was adapting from a whole recipe for buckeyes so I missed that in the edit. I just changed it. I’m so glad you like them. 🙂 The half sized bars are a great idea. I think I’ll try that next time.

      Reply
  2. Hi, this recipe looks delicious. I love the idea of making my favourite chocolate bar at home from ingredients that I buy anyway, except for the chocolate. I cook and, bake a lot but, I have never made candy and, I have only melted chocolate and, put it in molds. So, I have a couple of questions. Do you have to use a mixer for the filling to turn out properly? I don’t have one.
    Why do you need to temper the chocolate and, is absolutely necessary? Do the bars have to be refrigerated or, can they stay at room temperature ? Thanks
    By the way, in case your wundering :). Your recipe is still the only one on the net.

    Reply
  3. thank you for posting these – they look amazing! wunderbars are my boyfriends favourite candy bars, so i’m gonna fill his christmas stockings with these homemade ones!!

    Reply
  4. How long do the rice crispies stay crispy? Do you have to eat immediately?

    Reply
    • Actually, I don’t know for sure. These get eaten so quickly. Theoretically they should stay fairly crispy for a while since they aren’t exposed to water, just the oils inside the peanut butter.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

