RSS Feed

Fettuccine Alfredo

My daughter got her needles today so we made it home kind of late so I needed to make something quickly. I finally remembered to defrost some chicken so I stir fried it to add to my first attempt at Fettuccine Alfredo. I didn’t have any  fettuccine so I substituted spaghettini and it turned out great. I forgot to reserve some of the pasta water and the sauce got very thick. I added some plain water and extra cream and the dish was still super rich and cheesy. Speaking of which, don’t be tempted to us the grated parmesan cheese you find on the shelves, use the good stuff in the deli section. This dish is not something to make very often – more a special occassion kind of a thing. I think it would make a nice meal for someone’s date night. Not mine, since it’s just me and the munchkin and she’s only starting solid food. And it seems I have a little sweet potato monster on my hands. She cried for seconds and thirds! Probably has a major sweet tooth like her mother 🙂

 

Fettuccine Alfredo

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

2 tbsp unsalted butter

salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 , 9oz package fresh fettuccine

1 1/2 ounces parmesan cheese, greated 3/4 cup

1/8 tasp ground nutmeg

Bring one cup of heavy cream and the butter to simmer in a large saucepan. Reduce heat to low and simmer gently unitl mixture measures 2/3 cup, 12-15 minutes. Off heat, stir in remaining 1/2 cup cream, 1/2 tsp salt, and pepper.

While cream reduces, bring 4 quarts of water to a boil in large pot. Add pasta and 1 tbsp salt and cook, stirring often, until just shy of al dente. Reserve 1/4 cup of the cooking water, then drain pasta.

Meanwhile, return cream mixture to simmer. Reduce heat to low and add drained pasta, parmesan and nutmeg to cream mixture. Cook pasta over low heat, tossing to combine until cheese is melted, 1-2 minutes. Add reserved cooking water as needed to adjust consistency; sauce may look thin but will gradually thicken as pasta is served. Serve immediately.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

