RSS Feed

Ridiculously Easy Nutella Pots de Creme

Making Pots de Creme in the blender – is it too good to be true? I saw this recipe on Pinterest (I know I’m obsessed) and it looked delicious and easy so I had to give it a try. And I thought I’d try out my handy dandy conversion tool, which was my first mistake. I didn’t know what 10 ounces of chocolate chips was so I looked it up, but I guess it doesn’t account for chocolate chips having a lot of air in between them. My mixture didn’t harden up very well. I looked on the chocolate chip package and 1/3 cup = 2 ounces so I was short about half a cup! Taste wise I was very disappointed. There was no detectable Nutella flavour. If I had put in the correct amount of chocolate chips it would have been even worse. This recipe also highlights one very important guideline of cooking in general, your recipe is only as good as your ingredients. Chocolate chips are fine but they’re not gourmet. If I make this again I would use good quality bittersweet chocolate instead. I tried playing around with the mixture after it had set, adding a spoonful or two of nutella and it helped with flavour but thinned the mixture too much. It also wasn’t very sweet so I added some Splenda, which was an improvement. I’m going to try it one more time and tweek the ingredients adding probably 1/3 cup superfine sugar and another 1/4 cup of Nutella to see what happens. In the meantime I have all this Pots de Creme that I’m not super fond of. I’m trying to find alternate uses for it. Yesterday I added a couple of spoonfuls to my strawberry bottom greek yogurt so it made chocolate covered strawberries flavour! I added a little to a cup of hot milk and transformed it into hot chocolate, which was nice. Next I’m going to combine it with some cream cheese to make a no-bake chocolate cheesecake. 🙂

Oh, in the background of my photo you can see my handmade book jackets and paperclip bookmarks. They’re so cute I can’t stop making them. Whenever I need a break from working on my report I go and make a couple of tiny bookmarks! How much do you think I could sell them for?

Nutella Pots de Creme

10 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips ,( 1 2/3 cup)

1/4 cup Nutella

4 eggs salt

1 cup milk

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1. Into the blender add: chocolate chips, Nutella, eggs, salt. Pulse until combined.

2. Into a small sauce pan heat milk and cream until hot.

3. Slowly stream milk mixture into blender. Pulse until silky smooth.

4. Pour mixture into small jars or ramekins. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or until set.

Top with fresh whipped cream if desired.

Read Paula’s Food Blog, bell’alimento!

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

