RSS Feed

Homemade Greek Yogurt

How to Make Greek Yogurt - Cooking Light Magazine

I am an addict – fully and completely addicted to sugar. I know this because the other night I had a craving for something sweet and chocolatey so I decided to make one of those microwave mug cakes. This time it was chocolate chip cookie dough and it was awful; eggy and rubbery, but I ate it anyway because it was sweet and it had chocolate. I felt physically awful afterwards and it hit me that I ate it because my body needed it not because I wanted to enjoy a simple pleasure. I wasn’t in control of my food intake, my food was controlling me! Sooo…Easter weekend was my last hoorah. I’m going to start eating healthier and am going to try out some vegetarian recipes. Going meatless more often is better for the environment, is healthy and most importantly to me right now, it’s cheaper.

Along those lines, I tried making my own Greek style yogurt. I got the directions from Cooking Light and its super simple. You just put a metal strainer over a bowl, put a coffee filter or some paper towels in the strainer and add the yogurt. The excess liquid will drain out and you’re left with thick and creamy Greek yogurt! (You should leave it in the fridge to drain from 8-24 hours. The longer you leave it the thicker it gets). I used Astro 100% natural yogurt and it turned out great. It’s not sweetened of course so I added some honey. It’s not as yummy as Oikos but it’s less than half the price – $2.49 for 650g vs. $4.99 for 450g at Walmart. So worth the 60 seconds of effort.

Oh, and I started working out again. Tracy Anderson is my angel / she-devil. The moves look so simple but you do enough of them and they really hurt. My abs are not happy with me right now but I hope it pays off. If I’m brave I’ll share some before and after photos in the future.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

