RSS Feed

Baked Taquitos

This recipe is from my “diet” recipes and I must say, I am pleasantly surprised. It’s super simple to make and really does taste yummy. I don’t go out for Mexican very often but I think I remember these are usually deep fried? I certainly don’t miss the grease. I adjusted the recipe to make a large batch with a pound of ground beef, a whole pack of tortillas, one whole onion and nearly a whole bottle of salsa, then I let them cool and froze them for whenever I want something quick. This is going to become one of my go-to recipes 🙂

Baked Beef Taquitos

Heat oven to 425°. In a medium pan coated with vegetable oil cooking spray, sauté 4 oz 90 percent lean ground beef for 5 minutes. Add 1/2 chopped red bell pepper, 1/4 cup diced onion; sauté until veggies are tender, 3 minutes; stir in 1/4 cup salsa. Spread 1/3 beef mixture onto each of three 6-inch soft corn tortillas; roll up. Place on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray; coat taquitos with cooking spray; bake until golden, 10 minutes. Top with 2 tbsp nonfat plain Greek yogurt, 1 tbsp diced avocado.

456 calories, 18 g fat (5 g saturated), 45 g carbs, 6 g fiber, 31 g protein

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

