RSS Feed

Quinoa-Edamame Salad

More superfoods – this time it’s edamame.  The first time I tried these was in Vancouver at a japanese fast food place and much to my surprise, I really liked them. But since then I keep forgetting they exist because they’re always hiding in the frozen food section. Last week they were on sale at Loblaws so I took advantage and bought 2 bags which should last me quite a while.  This recipe, like so many healthy recipes, turned out fine – not fabulous- but fine. It’s hard to wow me unless you’ve been sprinkled with sugar or bathed in butter. lol I suppose my tastebuds will recover at some point but not right now. I didn’t have any cucumber or carrots (because I’m not too keen on either) so I substituted with some frozen stir fry veggies. This dish was also filling but after about an hour I was hungry again. That being said, its probably one of the healthiest recipes you’ll ever find, so if good health is your goal, give it a try. 🙂 Oh, and I would add more vinegar and spices to up the flavour without adding a lot of extra calories or sodium.

Edamame: The green soybeans supply 17 g of protein per cup, and your body torches more calories digesting protein than it does processing carbs and fat. Researchers from the Federal University of Vicosa found that people burned about 70 more calories per day withen their A.M. meal contained soy protein versus other types of protein. Cool beans!

Quinoa-Edamame Salad With Sesame-Ginger Dressing

In a bowl, combine 1 cup cooked quinoa, 2/3 cup shelled cooked edamame, 1/4 cup shredded carrots, 1/4 cup chopped cucumber. In another bowl, combine 2 tsp toasted sesame oil, 1 tsp rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp low-sodium soy sauce, 1/2 tsp grated ginger, 1/4 tsp garlic powder; toss with quinoa mixture. 457 calories, 17 g fat (1 g saturated), 55 g carbs, 11 g fiber, 19 g protein

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

