RSS Feed

Spinach-Black Bean Lasagna

For about 5 years or more I was afraid of carbs. I barely ate potatoes or pasta and saved up my carb calories for chocolate.  I had never made a meat lasagna until a few months ago and found it too greasy for my liking. Now that I’m on this superfoods/eat less meat kick I am trying to be more adventurous with carbs. I stumbled upon this recipe for lasagna that uses black beans instead of meat, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. I’m happy that I did! It’s great! Its cheesy without being greasy and for those of you that are worried about the beans and spinach, you can’t taste either, all you taste is the sauce. If you visit the http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/spinach-black-bean-lasagna-10000000258981/  site and check out the commments you’ll see that even kids like this one, so it must be good. lol I substituted low fat ricotta and couldn’t find Montery Jack cheese with peppers so I used regular, and the recipe was still flavourful. I bought a bunch of beans at the Bulk Barn so it’s cheap to make as well. (Say that three times fast)

Spinach-Black Bean Lasagna

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 (15-ounce) container ricotta cheese

1 (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 cups (16 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack cheese with peppers, divided

2 (16-ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained

1 (2-pound, 13-ounce) jar pasta sauce

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

9 precooked lasagna noodles

Garnish: chopped fresh cilantro

Stir together first 5 ingredients and 1 cup Monterey Jack cheese; set aside.

Mash beans with a potato masher or fork in a large bowl; stir in pasta sauce and cumin. Spread one-third of bean mixture on bottom of a lightly greased 13- x 9-inch baking dish.

Layer with 3 noodles, half of spinach mixture, and 1 cup Monterey Jack cheese; repeat layers. Spread with one-third bean mixture; top with remaining 3 noodles and remaining bean mixture.

Bake, covered, at 350° for 1 hour; uncover and top with remaining Monterey Jack cheese. Bake 5 more minutes or until cheese melts. Garnish, if desired.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

