RSS Feed

Banana-Nut Pancakes

I am still trying out these superfoods recipes from Self Magazine and the latest is this one for pancakes. Actually they’re quinoa cakes with egg whites, topped which greek Yogurt which means they’re packed with major protein. They are healthy but I think the recipe needs some tweaking. My batter turned out way too runny. When I poured it in the pan the egg/milk poured out from underneath the quinoa and I had to push it back up around it as it cooked. The pancakes didn’t really stay together except for the last one which had the least amount of milk mixture. Either you have to really pack in the quinoa or cut down on the milk or let the mixture stand so that the milk can absorb into the quinoa somewhat. When cooked they actually tasted half decent. I added a little cinnamon as well which in my opinion, is always a good thing. (No extra calories but loads of extra flavour.) This recipe was super filling and I couldn’t finish the last pancake. I will give it a try again in a few days because I think if I can get the texture just right it will be a keeper.

Banana-Nut Pancakes

In a bowl, whisk 1/2 cup cooked quinoa with 2 egg whites, 1/4 cup 1 percent milk, 1 tsp brown sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla; stir in 1/4 sliced banana. Coat a medium skillet with vegetable oil cooking spray; pour on batter to make 3 pancakes, and cook over medium-high heat, flipping once, until firm, 3 minutes each side. Top with 2 tbsp nonfat plain Greek yogurt, 1/4 sliced banana, 2 tbsp chopped walnuts, 1 tsp maple syrup.366 calories,13 g fat (1 g saturated), 48 g carbs, 5 g fiber, 19 g protein

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

