RSS Feed

Low-Carb Truffles

I have to get a handle on this sugar addiction. I thought I could wean myself off. The chocolate purchases that were supposed to last at least a week, ended up lasting about a day and a half. I’m going cold turkey instead. It’s been 24 hours since my last sugary treat. 🙂 Yesterday I made these low-carb, sugar free truffles to keep me from losing my mind during withdrawal. I’ve made versions before when I was on Atkins and the Suzanne Somers diet and I actually really like them. In my experience I find you cannot cut both sugar and fat and still create something palatable. These truffles have a high fat content which gives them a great mouth feel and because they are so rich, it’s difficult to eat too many of them. That being said, I’ve already had two since breakfast *blush* They’re quite simple to make and would probably be a nice gift for anyone in your circle that is diabetic. I didn’t bother rolling them, I just scooped them out with a melon baller and shaped them a little so they look quite “rustic” but are still delicious.

Low Carb Chocolate Truffles

By Nana Lee www.food.com

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate

4 tablespoons Splenda sugar substitute

4 tablespoons butter , at room temperature

4 tablespoons whipping cream , at room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 ounce crushed macadamia nuts (optional)

The success of this recipe depends upon the melted chocolate and butter being at the same temperature. If not, the chocolate and butter will separate.

Melt the chocolate either in the microwave or in a bowl over a pot of simmering water.

Stir in the Splenda and cool to room temperature.

Combine the chocolate and butter until smooth.

Stir in cream and vanilla, then the nuts if using.

Spread evenly into small, parchment lined loaf pan-I use a 4×7 pan.

Chill until firm. Cut into pieces and store in the freezer.

 

Total Carbohydrates with nuts: 33.85

Total Carbohydrates Minus Fiber with nuts: 29.93

Total Carbohydrates without nuts: 22.21

Total Carbohydrates Minus Fiber without nuts: 20.73.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

