RSS Feed

Twice Baked Salmon Potatoes

A couple of weeks ago when my contract fell through I was scouring the internet for cheap meal ideas, mostly on www.myrecipes.com, and I found this simple recipe. It calls for hot-smoked salmon and I had no idea what that was so I looked it up:

Commonly used for both trout and salmon, hot smoking ‘cooks’ the salmon making it less moist, and firmer, with a less delicate taste. (Wikipedia)

I didn’t have any on hand so I just used regular canned salmon, and I don’t like horseradish so I left it out. And I don’t have the patience to bake pototoes in the oven so I microwave them instead for about 3-4 minutes per side. (Poke holes in them with a fork first to let the steam escape). The whole recipe took maybe 30 minutes to make so it’s quick as well. Even with the changes they were still quite good.  They would probably be amazing with the smoked salmon though, I must say. My family is allowed to fish for atlantic salmon for subsistence purposes and they make hot smoked salmon during the summer. When I go home I will definitely try making this recipe as directed.

Twice Baked Salmon Potatoes

  • 4 large baking potatoes
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/3 cup fat-free milk
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3 tablespoons prepared horseradish
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 (4.5-ounce) package hot-smoked salmon
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated fresh Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 450°.

Bake potatoes at 450° for 50 minutes or until done; cool slightly.

Reduce oven temperature to 400°.

Cut each potato in half lengthwise, and scoop out pulp, leaving a 1/4-inch-thick shell. Combine potato pulp, onions, and next 7 ingredients (through salmon) in a large bowl, stirring until blended. Spoon potato mixture into shells. Sprinkle cheese evenly over potatoes. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

Julianna Grimes Bottcher, Cooking Light

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

