RSS Feed

Sneaky Sauce

I wanted to experiment with some new food puree’s for my daughter so I bought this package of frozen mixed beans (green, wax, romano, edamame, chick peas and black beans), then steamed and pureed them. No matter how much I pureed them the skins of the black beans was still there. I was afraid they might be a choking hazard so I gave up on it, but was left with the bean puree. I can’t afford to throw food away so I wanted to find a way to use it. Then I remembered this book written by Jerry Seinfeld’s wife Jessica, where she adds vegetable and fruit purees to her food to trick her kids into eating vegetables! The book is called “Deceptively Delicious”. http://doitdelicious.com/ So what could I make and add the puree to? I settled on pasta with an Alfredo sauce. I wanted to try a quick cream cheese version and found this on www.allrecipes.com  I used it as inspiration and just kind of winged it and it turned out fine. I added about 1 ½ tbsp. to my plate of pasta and gave it a try. I was shocked! I could not taste the bean mixture at all – I’m so psyched about this! I’m not the hugest veggie fan so I could trick myself into eating more vegetables like this. Lol Instead of taking something away to make it healthier, I am adding something, which is a pleasant change. Surprisingly, green beans are quite healthy. They’re rich in B-complex vitamins as well as fibre and protein. For more info and a recipe click this link: http://www.chatelaine.com/en/article/30470–why-iron-rich-green-beans-are-nature-s-multivitamin

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 cups milk
  • 6 ounces grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

Melt  butter in a medium, non-stick saucepan over medium heat. Add cream cheese and garlic powder, stirring with wire whisk until smooth. Add milk, a little at a time, whisking to smooth out lumps. Stir in Parmesan and pepper. Remove from heat when sauce reaches desired consistency. Sauce will thicken rapidly, thin with milk if cooked too long. Toss with hot pasta to serve.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

