RSS Feed

Update: Vegan Chocolate Mug Cake

I was in the mood for a cupcake but I knew if I made six I would probably eat them in less than a day, so I went on the hunt for mug cakes again, only to remember that I was going to try to make my vegan cupcakes into a mug cake. I did the conversion and ended up with this recipe which is equal to about two cupcakes. Enjoy as is or run a knife around the cake to pop it out of the mug, cool, and top with your favourite frosting. I broke it up and smeared each piece with chocolate buttercream icing! Mmmmm! Best mug cake so far. Because it’s eggless it doesn’t get rubbery.

Vegan Chocolate Mug Cake

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons white sugar

1-1/2 teaspoons cocoa powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1-2 pinches of salt

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon distilled white vinegar

2 tablespoons water

Mix all ingredients in a large mug and microwave for 1 – 3 minutes depending on the strength of your microwave. Try microwaving for 1 minute first so that you do not overcook it. This will help keep the cake moist.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

