RSS Feed

Chocolate Walnut Fig No-Bake Treats

I think this is the fourth no-bake cookie recipe I’ve posted and you guys must think I’m obsessed. I guess it’s because no-bake is so easy and I’ve always got the ingredients in the cupboard. I also don’t like throwing out food so I wanted to use that crushed cereal at the bottom of the box again. lol This time I wanted something less sweet and more nutritious. When I was pregnant I read a lot of articles about which foods to eat, especially those containing potassium because it helps regulate blood pressure (mine was high because of the pregnancy). Dried figs are quite nutritious – a good source of not only potassium but fibre, calcium and iron. Walnuts are a good source of copper, magnesium and phosphorus, and contain omega-3’ fatty acids. They are also a classic pairing for figs. The chocolate in this recipe is semi-sweet so there’s less sugar. So this all adds up to a treat that has an intense chocolate flavour, is high in fibre, and is more satisfying. I must confess that I can easily eat about 6 no bake cookies in a sitting, but with these I can eat only 2-3 because they are so filling and pack such a chocolate punch. So if you’re looking for something with less guilt factor, give these a try.

Note: I had the brilliant idea that I could chop up the figs in the food processor – it did not go as planned. They were a little too firm and knocked around in there, got caught in the blade and my processor nearly rocked off the counter. I do not recommend it. Perhaps if I let them go longer it would have worked but I didn’t want to chance it.

Chocolate Walnut Fig No-Bake Treats

1.5 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips or equivalent good quality bittersweet chocolate

3/4 cup dried figs, chopped

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup crushed Mini-Wheats

Melt chocolate in double boiler, remove from heat and stir in mini-wheats, then figs and nuts. Drop by heaping tablespoon onto parchment lined baking sheet. Refrigerate until firm. Makes about 16 cookies.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

