RSS Feed

Chocolate Coconut Snowballs

Photo from Huffington Post

I just realized I actually didn’t post a couple of my no-bake cookie recipes. I have no idea why – I think I forgot to take photos or maybe I ate them too quickly? The first one is a Nutella no-bake cookie recipe I found on Pinterest. I used regular milk instead of almond milk and they turned out amazingly! You can actually taste the nutella, unlike a few other nutella recipes out there. I won’t bother re-writing the recipe so I’ll just give you the link: http://www.ingredientsinc.net/2012/05/no-bake-nutella-oatmeal-cookies/

The other is my recipe for Chocolate Coconut Snowballs (photo above). I had a bit of a mishap with those. I’ve been making them since I was a kid but when I made them last week I put them in the fridge with a partially wrapped piece of leftover chicken bruschetta pizza topped with red onion and parmesan cheese so those smells contaminated the outside of the cookies. I had to throw the whole batch out . Apparently these are a variation of Swedish chocolate balls. Click the photo to get a recipe from Huffington Post. Our family recipe is below.

Chocolate Coconut Snowballs

1/2 cup margarine

1/2 cup milk

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup sugar

5 tbsp cocoa

1/2 cup unsweetened flaked coconut for cookies, ½ cup extra for the coating

Cream margarine, sugar and milk, then boil. Add cocoa. Stir well until dissolved. Remove from heat and add oats and coconut. Cool , then form into 1 inch balls and roll into coconut. Chill until firm.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Thank you for posting these! YUM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

