RSS Feed

Lentil – Walnut Burgers and Couscous with Marinated Artichoke Hearts

I had a friend over for dinner again last night so I took the opportunity to make these vegetarian burgers that I’ve been eyeing for over a year now. I have tons of lentils on hand because they’re inexpensive and nutritious. Surprisingly, I like the taste of both red and green lentils. I chose red for this recipe, although it doesn’t specify which you should use. The recipe also confused me a little because it doesn’t clearly state if the amount refers to the cooked or uncooked lentils. I went with uncooked which came out to about 1 1/2 cups cooked. When I added them to the processor it seized my machine so I ended up mixing by hand. The mixture also came quite wet so I added little extra breadcrumbs – perhaps another 1/4-1/3 of a cup. I taste tested it before adding the egg and found it was a little too salt for my liking so I think the next time I will omit a 1/2tsp of salt.  Other than that, the browned beautifully and were crisp on the outside, moist and flavorful on the inside. Instead of the cilantro sauce I used some leftover bar-b-q sauce from last week and it really made the patties taste more like burgers.  I would definitely make these again. Thanks Martha Stewart!

One the side, I served couscous with marinated artichoke hearts – a recipe I found years ago in an old issue of Cooking Pleasures Magazine. The salad was tasty even though I didn’t have any fresh parsley on hand so I sprinkled a little dried on there instead. For dessert I tried David Lebovitz’s recipe for vegan chocolate sorbet.  Holy chocolaty goodness batman! Not ever recipe deserves that description so take note 😉 It was super rich and silky. I highly recommend it, especially for any vegans out there or anyone sensitive to eggs and/or dairy. Enjoy! I’ll post separately to make searching easier.

Note: by no means are these food stylist quality photos. At that point, I was more interested in eating than in taking pictures.

Lentil-Walnut Burgers

For the burgers:

3/4 cup toasted walnuts cooled

1/3 cup plain dried breadcrumbs

3 garlic cloves coarsely chopped

2 teaspoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons ground coriander

1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes

Coarse salt and ground pepper

3/4 cup lentils cooked, drained, and cooled

4 tablespoons olive oil

1 large egg

For the sauce:

3/4 cup plain low-fat yogurt

Coarse salt and ground pepper

2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1.In a food processor, combine walnuts, breadcrumbs, garlic, cumin, coriander, pepper flakes, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; process until finely ground. Add lentils and 1 tablespoon oil; pulse until coarsely chopped (some lentils should remain whole). 2. In a large bowl, whisk egg. Add lentil mixture; mix well. Divide into 4 equal-size parts; roll into balls, and flatten with the palm of your hand into 3/4-inch-thick patties. 3. Heat remaining 3 tablespoons oil in a large nonstick skillet. Add burgers; cook over medium-low heat until crisp and browned, turning gently with a thin-edged spatula, 8 to 10 minutes per side. Transfer to a paper-towel-lined plate to drain. 4. Yogurt Cilantro Sauce: In a small bowl, whisk together yogurt, cilantro, and lemon; season with salt and pepper.

Nutrition info per serving (without sauce): 460 calories; 28.9 grams fat; 18.7 grams protein; 35 grams carbohydrates; 13.6 grams fiber

Couscous with Marinated Artichoke Hearts

1 3/4 cups of couscous

2 cups boiling water

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

2 cups coarsely chopped marinated artichoke hearts

1/2 cup minced green onions

1/2 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley

1 tbsp. chopped fresh dill

3 tbsp. lemon juice

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 cup toasted chopped walnuts

1 cup (4oz) crumbled feta cheese

Place couscous in large bowl; cover with 2 cups boiling water. Stir, let stand 10 min or until water is absorbed. Stir in oil, salt and pepper. Stir in artichoke hearts, green onions, parsley, dill, lemon juice, and garlic. Transfer to serving bowl. Cover; let stand at least 30 min (Salad can be made to this point up to 4 hours ahead. Cover and refrigerate. Bring to room temperature before serving.) Just before serving, sprinkle with walnuts and feta cheese.

To toast walnuts, spread on cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 7-10 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

