RSS Feed

Oatmeal Cinnamon Waffles

I was in the mood for waffles yesterday and thought I would make the Betty Crocker everyday ones, freeze them and have them on hand for whenever, but I remembered I had saved this recipe for Oatmeal Waffles, which sounds much healthier.  I’m on another health kick, so while I was making the waffles, during the 9 minutes it took to bake them in the waffle iron, I decided to do some “lazy girl” exercises. Basically do you a few reps of some no equipment, strength exercises when you have a minute or so. I did some push-ups against the wall, pliés, and some Tracy Anderson arms and standing abs moves. Anyone who could see through my kitchen window must have thought “That poor single mom across the way finally lost it!” lol

Annnyway….back to the waffles. Oatmeal is a whole grain and adds fibre. To make them even healthier I also substituted the brown sugar with Splenda brown sugar blend and it worked like a charm! And here’s another health tip: studies show that cinnamon helps regulate blood sugar levels.

While mixing the batter, I didn’t know if I had done something wrong because when I slowly added the melted butter, and stirred as I went, the butter solidified and kind of turned into something that resembled shards of glass. According Chef Michael Smith, there are reactions between the butter and sugar that create either tender or chewy baked good so there’s reasoning behind it. (If you’re curious, he explains it way better than I do, so check out his videos online here, plus get a recipe for chewy chocolate chips cookies). I also added a slightly rounded tbsp. of baking powder so perhaps this also helped them fluff up. The longer the mixture sat, the thicker and more bubbly it became. It was a lot like muffin mix at the end. I don’t really know if this was supposed to happen, but the waffles turned out well. These toasted up crispy and crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside, with a hint of cinnamon sweetness. They are also very easy to make, so they may replace the Betty Crocker waffles as my everyday waffles. The one thing that would knock these out of the park would be finely chopped walnuts. Next time Gadget.

This recipe made 10 Eggo sized waffles in my little Black and Decker, 4 in 1 Waffle-maker/sandwich press. 🙂 I ate 4 waffles right off the bat, and they’re actually quite a bit more filling than those made with white flour. I read through some of the comments on allrecipes.com and it seems people have had success substituting some, or all of the white flour with whole wheat, but I haven’t given it a try yet.  If you try it, let me know how it turns out.

Oatmeal Cinnamon Waffles

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 eggs, slightly beaten

1 1/2 cups milk

6 tablespoons butter, melted

2 tablespoons brown sugar

In large mixing bowl, stir together flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt; set aside. In small mixing bowl, stir together eggs, milk, butter and brown sugar. Add to flour mixture; stir until blended. Pour batter on to grids of preheated, lightly greased waffle iron (amount will vary with size of waffle iron). Close lid quickly; do not open during baking. Use fork to remove baked waffle. Top with fresh fruit and yogurt.

Footnotes:  Diabetic Exchanges: One serving equals 1 bread, 2 fats; also, 176 calories, 223 mg sodium, 65 mg cholesterol, 21 gm carbohydrate, 5 gm protein, 8 gm fat.

With greek yogurt, pure maple syrup, and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

