RSS Feed

Sugar-free Chocolatey Goodness!

I have a new goddess, and her name is Chocolate Covered Katie! You guys have probably noticed that I am a hardcore chocoholic/sweets addict. Well, Katie makes low-sugar or sugar-free desserts, the majority of which are chocolate. I tried her chocolate fudge cake a while back and it was good but got very solid after cooling, but these chocolate balls are surprisingly decadent and satisfying. If you didn’t know, you wouldn’t say that they were sugar free. Their sweetness comes from the natural goodness of dates. Dates are rich in fibre, antioxidants, beta carotene, and a few other vitamins and minerals, plus they taste great. 🙂 I’ll be trying a few variations of this recipe over the next few weeks.

The recipe is super easy to make, and all you need is a food processor. I was wondering if I had copied the recipe wrong because there was no sweetener and no liquid to bind the ingredients together. It took a while, but when the dates started to break down, their sticky insides are what caused the mixture to clump together. Once that was achieved I transferred the mixture to a sandwich bag and rolled it into a log. This made it easier to put on a plate and cut into medallions and roll into balls. It may be easier to chill the dough first but I haven’t given that a try it. I had enough to make 7 fair sized balls and I ate 2 right away because they were so good! I’ll try rationing them so that I can have 2 per day for the next couple of days, then I’ll try another one of Katie’s creations and report back. And these would be great for any diabetics in your family – way better than anything you can buy at the store.

Note: I left out the coconut because when I looked in the cupboard, what I thought was coconut was actually panko crumbs! lol

German Chocolate Fudge Bites

(Makes 10-14 balls)

■3/4 cup pitted dates (I like Sunmaid, because they are softer.) (120g)
■1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
■1/16 tsp salt
■2 T cocoa powder (or raw cacao powder)
■2 T shredded coconut
■1/3 to 1/2 cup raw pecans
■optional: feel free to add some chocolate chips

Blend all ingredients together very well. (I recommend using a food processor.) Squish the dough together. (I transferred the dough to a plastic bag then smushed it together in the bag. It’s much less messy this way!) Roll into balls, cookie-cuttered shapes, or bars… or you can even use it for a pie crust!

Per Fudge Brownie Bite:
■Calories: 50
■Fat: 2.5g
■Carbohydrates: 8g
■Cholesterol: 0mg
■Fiber: 1.5g
■Protein: .6g
■Added sugars: 0g

Update: I tried the original Fudge Bites/Babies version which uses dates and walnuts and they’re also fabulous!

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

