RSS Feed

I’ve been trying to eat heathier and have been scouring the internet for health and fitness inspiration. I stumbled upon bodyrock.tv and was amazed by how incredibly lean the fitness instructors are. Their diet must be extremely clean and healthy. They do have a recipe section but it’s hit and miss, and seems to include members recipes as well. I found this recipe for a tuna and bean salad and it’s actually quite good. I didn’t use the exact amounts listed and just added ingredients according to my tastes ( I could never eat a half a can of kidney beans!) I didn’t see a yield for the recipe so I’m assuming it’s two servings, so I made half for lunch and it was surprisingly filling. For dessert I had a couple of the vegan fudge bites that I made yesterday. Soooo good! Who knew eating healthier could be so enjoyable?

Note: recipe is written by one of the bodyrock.tv trainers in blog format. Here’s her original post if you want to see step by step photos: http://www.bodyrock.tv/2011/09/17/chunky-light-salad/

Chunky Light Salad

Ingredients:

Baby spinach (about 6 cups),

1 large can of tuna in water,

1 can of kidney beans,

1/2 cup of fat free plain yogurt,

1/2 cup of fat free feta cheese,

dijon mustard (about 1tbsp)

honey (about 1tsp)

2 avocados

1 cup of chopped green onions

1 apple

1 garlic clove

olive oil (about 2 tbsp)

paprika

salt

Put the minced garlic into a smaller bowl and add about 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. I think that I used about 1 teaspoon of paprika and 1 heaping tablespoon of the dijon mustard. I also added about 2 pinches of garlic salt, but regular salt will do it. I added half package of the fat free plain yogurt which is about 85g.  Last ingredient is a little bit of honey and I believe that I poured about 1 teaspoon into the dressing. Mix all of these ingredients with a fork. Mix all of the salad ingredients with the dressing and you are ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

