RSS Feed

Wedding Feast and “I’m Sorry Squares”

    View from a Miramachi hotel.

I went to my brother’s wedding in New Brunswick this past weekend and my good eating habits fell to the wayside, big time. Food is all things good in my family, and it’s not a celebration unless we make enough to feed a small army. The first night I got there they had an Atlantic Canada classic – the lobster boil. My Mom also made salmon cakes (fritters) and pan-fried salmon as well. On the side were 3-4 classic salads such as potato, macaroni, and garden salads as well as hashbrown casserole. The second night was the wedding and my brother is big on deep frying turkeys. For 10 adults and 11 children we prepared one roasted,plus two deep fried turkeys, and more salads, plus wedding cake of course for dessert. There was so many leftovers it was unreal. Two of the turkeys ended up as snack food for that evening and the next day.  The third day we barbequed steaks and had caesar salad and homefries on the side. We also had a pre-birthday party for my daughter whose birthday is next week. I wanted to celebrate with everyone while we were all together. She had both a vanilla and a sinful chocolate rolo cake from a local bakery and they were quite good. After all that deliciousness I gained back the 2 1/2 lbs I lost!

When I left I forgot to turn off my alarm, which was set to go off at 5:00am every morning. I felt so awful because I knew the lady in the townhouse next to mine could surely hear it. I didn’t leave keys with anyone so I couldn’t call to have someone go turn it off. The day after I got back I made these Coffee Congo Bars for her as an apology. They’ve been made famous by my Mom and are much loved by the whole family, espcially my sister Nicole. I hope you guys like them as well.

Coffee Congo Bars

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup warm brewed coffee

1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven. Hand mix the first 4 ingredients.

Add everything but the chocolate chips and mix again until smooth.

Pour into 9×13 inch pan, top with chocolate chips and bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes, depending on your pan and your oven.

Cool for a few minutes before cutting. Can be served warm or room temperature.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

