RSS Feed

Nutella Fudge – Low Sugar

My latest attempt at a Chocolate Covered Katie recipe was the Nutella fudge, and it did not go as planned. I wanted to make my own coconut butter in the Kitchenaid. For a whole package of unsweetened shredded coconut it took 1 hr and 10 minutes to make, and even at that point it wasn’t super smooth! To top it all off, at 9:10 p.m. my daughter was getting sleepy and at about that same time my food processor died. Coconut butter killed my Kitchenaid! Luckily it just overheated and was fine the next day. I don’t know if I would say the same for my fudge. After all that, it tasted pretty much just like the fudge cake I made a few months back. I couldnt’ taste the Nutella. I’m kind of stingy when it comes to my Nutella so I wouldn’t bother making this particular recipe again, I would stick with the original fudge cake.

You can eat this frozen or thawed, and her I took photos in sunlight and it kind of melted. It’s oily because of the coconut butter/oil, but it’s healthy fat so I’m not worried about it.

Chocolate Nutella Fudge

(gluten-free and no-bake!)

■1/4 cup coconut butter, melted

■1/4 cup choc-hazelnut spread or Healthy Nutella

■1-2 tsp cocoa powder or cacao powder

■65g very-ripe banana (about 1/4 a large banana)

■1/8 tsp salt

■sweetener if desired (Some people want it, others don’t.)

Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender. (It’s best if the coconut butter is not solid, and if you use a frozen banana be sure to thaw so it doesn’t harden the coconut butter.) After blending, taste to see if you’d like to add any sweetener. Scoop into a container or even a little pie pan, and put in the fridge or freezer so it will firm up. (Alternatively, you can eat it soft, like frosting!) If desired, top with chocolate chips and extra Healthier Nutella (recipe linked above) like I did in the top two photos. This is freezer fudge, so it needs to be kept cold. It makes a small serving, but feel free to double or triple the recipe!

Making homemade coconut butter – one package of coconut equals 1 ramekin of coconut butter. It took 70 minutes in my Kitchenaid food processor!

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

Leave a Reply

