RSS Feed

Healthier Boneless “Ribs”

I haven’t been blogging much because my daughter has developed some major separation anxiety, plus she had a fever, developed a rash, and got even more clingy.   I am also working on gathering information for my student funding application, which is taking much longer than expected.  In the meantime, I am carefully cooking with the baby literally at my feet!

A few months back I watched an episode of “Eat, Shrink, be Merry” where they made over barbequed ribs. I know I’m a little obsessed when it comes to ribs – they’re one of my favourite foods, especially in the summer months. And I love my Kansas City BBQ sauce so I used that instead of their sauce recipe. I did adapted their idea for flattening the tenderloin to resemble ribs. I forgot to score the meat until after it had been cooking a couple of minutes, but it was pretty good! I don’t have a grill so I broiled the tenderloin in my oven, which I’ve never tried before so I still need to perfect that process to ensure juicy and tender results. Other than that, I was impressed. You could argue it’s better than regular ribs because you actually get all meat instead of the bones and fat with regular pork ribs. This is a definite “make again” dish.

Stick to Your Ribs

Pork tenderloin “ribs” with zesty, lemon-rosemary barbecue sauce.Courtesy of Greta and Janet Podleski, Eat, Shrink and Be Merry

Ingredients

Spice Rub

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons paprika

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Barbecue Sauce

2 large pork tenderloins

1 tablespoon butter

2 tablespoons finely minced onions

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1/2 cup ketchup

1/3 cup hickory-flavoured barbecue sauce

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

2 tablespoons molasses

1 1/4 teaspoons chili powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Spice Rub

1. Mix all spice rub ingredients together in a small bowl. Set aside.

Barbecue Sauce and Ribs

1. Using a meat mallet, pound the pork uniformly into about 1-inch thickness. Using a sharp knife, score the pork in 1-inch intervals so that it looks like ribs. Cut about half-way into the meat, not all the way through.

2. Use about 1 tbsp of spice rub per slab of “ribs” and rub into both sides of meat and into score marks. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight for best flavour.

3. To make sauce, melt butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and garlic. Cook and stir until onions have softened, about 1 minute. Add all remaining ingredients. Mix well.

4. Simmer, uncovered, over low heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and let cool. Sauce will thicken slightly as it cools.

5. Preheat gas grill to high heat setting. Grill pork for about 10 minutes, turning occasionally and basting often with barbecue sauce. Grill marks are mandatory! Be sure not to overcook the pork, as it will be dry. It’s okay for pork be a little pink in the middle.

6. Remove pork from grill and let rest for one minute, then cut along score marks into individual “ribs.” Serve hot

Per serving: 393 calories, 10.5 g total fat (4.2 g saturated fat), 49 g protein, 24 g carbohydrate, 1.2 g fibre, 154 mg cholesterol, 708 mg sodium

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

