RSS Feed

Cinnamon Buns

I have a good friend that really helps me out a lot and I would be lost without him. I invite him over for dinner about once a week as a little thank-you. One of his favourite treats is cinnamon rolls/buns so over the holidays I tried out a recipe from www.allrecipes.com called Clone of a Cinnabon which was originally made for a bread maker but I don’t have one so I made it by hand instead. It didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped – not fluffy enough and not enough cinnamon sugar filling. The cream cheese icing was great though. When I got back here to Ottawa I tried looking for another recipe and it’s surprisingly difficult to find a cinnamon bun or roll recipe. I didn’t find one in Cook’s Illustrated or my holiday favourites book. I checked out the food network videos for Bake with Anna Olsen. I liked seeing the recipes come together so I know it has been tested. Her recipe for sticky buns looked great so I decided to give it a try. I omitted the “goo” and baked them at higher heat for a shorter period of time. It was getting late and I was too impatient to wait 40 minutes for it to bake! lol Fifteen minutes at 375 and they were already getting too brown on top so I took them out and they were fine just like that. I think my oven runs a bit too hot. Next time I will try according to Anna’s directions to see if they bake up lighter and fluffier. I topped the buns with the cream cheese icing I found on allrecipes and it was divine! They were so yummy they were gone before I remembered to take a photos, so please forgive the stock photo πŸ™‚

Anna has has a great tip:Β If you want to enjoy the sticky buns first thing in the morning, prepare the buns to the point of cutting the dough and putting them in the goo in the pan, then cover and place in the fridge overnight. Take the buns straight from the fridge and place in a cold oven. Set the temperature to 350 F and bake for 45 minutes. By the time the oven gets to temperature, the buns will have raised the perfect amount.

Cinnamon bun

Classic Cinnamon Sticky Buns

Bakes in a 9-x-13-inch pan

Ingredients

Dough

1 1/4 cups 2% milk, just above body temperature (105 F)

2 1/4 teaspoons (1 pkg) instant dry yeast

1/4 cup sugar

1 large egg at room temperature

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon salt

Goo

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup maple syrup

Filling

2/3 cup packed light brown sugar

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Directions

Dough

For the dough, measure all the ingredients into a bowl and stir with a wooden spoon, or blend in a stand mixer fitted with the hook attachment until evenly combined. If mixing by hand, turn the dough out onto a work surface and knead until smooth, about 5 minutes, or if in a mixer, knead for about 3 minutes. Transfer the dough to an oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let rise until doubled in size, 90 minutes to 2 hours.

Goo

For the goo, add the butter, brown sugar and maple syrup in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring until melted and the mixture is bubbling. Pour this into a greased 9-x-13-inch pan the prepared pan and set aside.

Filling & Assembly

For the filling, stir the brown sugar and cinnamon together and set aside. Have the melted butter ready.

Turn the risen dough onto a lightly floured surface and roll it out into a rectangle about 18-x-12 inches. Brush the entire surface of the dough with the melted butter and sprinkle with the cinnamon brown sugar mixture. Roll up the dough from the longer side and then cut the roll into 12 pieces. Place these into the prepared pan, evenly spaced, cover with plastic wrap or tea towel and let rise for an hour.

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Uncover the risen sticky buns and bake them for 40-45 minutes, until they are a rich golden brown. It is recommended to cool the sticky buns for 15 minutes in the pan before inverting to serve.

The sticky buns are best served the day they are baked.

Cream Cheese Topping

1 3oz pk of cream cheese softened

1/4 cup butter softened

1 1/2 cups icing sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/8 tsp salt

Cream together cream cheese and butter, add the rest of the ingredients and beat until smooth. Smother on top of cinnamon buns, or anything you want for that matter! Try to resist eating it with a spoon πŸ™‚

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

