RSS Feed

Vegan Red Velvet Mug Cake

IMG_0692

IMG_0693

I’ve been making my vegan chocolate mug cake quit a lot over the last few months but I was in the mood for something different. One of the most popular flavours right now would have to be Red Velvet.  I decided to find a vegan version using common ingredients and of course no egg. A whole egg in one mug leads to rubbery cake. I found this recipe through food.com but the original called for almond and chocolate extracts as well, which I didn’t have on hand. I added a little extra vanilla instead, and using my chocolate mug cake recipe as a guide for conversions, I came up with this recipe. It bakes up nice and fluffy after about 95 seconds in my microwave 🙂 I’m not vegan so I made regular cream cheese icing and used it as a dipping sauce for bites of cake. Yummalicious!

Vegan Red Velvet Mug Cake

3 tbsp flour.
2 tbsp + 2 tsp sugar
1 tsp cocoa
1/16 tsp baking powder
1/16 tsp baking soda
1/16 tsp salt
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2tbsp + 2 tsp milk of choice
1/8 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp red food coloring
1/4 tsp vanilla

Combine dry ingredients, add wet ingredients, mix until smooth. Microwave for about 90 seconds and enjoy!

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: veganinspo: Vegan Red Velvet Mug Cake | VeganBlog.org

  2. Okay, I have GOT to try this. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

  4. Looks yummy. Have to make!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

