RSS Feed

Butter Cupcakes

I am planning another chocolate gorgefest for Valentine’s Day this year, so I figured I should try not to eat anything containing chocolate for the next week, so that I will enjoy my special day even more. That means, I need to make something sweet to replace all that chocolate …right? Aww man! When will I ever learn. I cannot be trusted with anything that contains both sugar and fat, regardless of its chocolate content. I tried this recipe for a simple, old fashioned snack cake and turned it into cupcakes. I didn’t bother with the icing and made Becel buttercream instead. I used Becel in the batter as well and it turned out just fine. Fine enough that I ate 5 moist, tender, buttery cupcakes!!! This is a new low people. My tummy hurts :(. I think it has something to do with the most depressing day of the year – January 21st (aka: Blue Monday). I think it was around that time that I fell off the diet and exercise wagon yet again.

I’m going to freeze these little suckers and try rationing them for the rest of the week. Wish me luck!

IMG_0226

Buttery Snack Cake with Broiled Coconut

Prep time: 15 mins Cook time: 35 mins Total time: 50 mins

1¼ cups all-purpose or 1½ cups cake flour
1 cup sugar
⅓ cup butter or stick margarine, softened
¾ cup milk
1½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon salt
1 large egg

Broiled Coconut Frosting
1 cup flaked coconut
⅓ cup packed brown sugar
¼ cup butter or stick margarine, softened
2 tablespoons half-and-half or milk

Heat oven to 350°.
Grease bottom and sides of square pan, 8 X 8 X 2 (or you may double recipe and 9×13)

(Makes 12 cupcakes. Bake for about 20 minutes.)
Beat all ingredients except Broiled Coconut Frosting with electric mixer on low speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly.
Beat on high speed 3 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.
Pour into pan.
Bake 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Mix together Coconut Frosting ingredients.
Set oven control to broil (low).
Carefully spread frosting over hot cake.
Broil with top of cake about 4 inches from heat about 2 minutes or until frosting is light brown.
Watch carefully so frosting does not burn.
Cool 15 minutes.
Serve warm or cool.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

