RSS Feed

Small Batch Vegan Banana Muffins

These muffins could also be called “vegan, single girl, one banana muffins” 🙂 My baby and I eat a lot of bananas so it’s rare that any of them get too soft, but a while back I forgot one inside one of her diaper bags. I didn’t want to throw it out so I decided to search for an egg free recipe, which would make it easier to break the recipe into thirds (use one banana instead of three). I found a couple of vegan recipes but they called for special ingredients. I did a little more research and discovered if you mix ground flax seed and water together it can replace the egg in recipes. I tried it and it works perfectly! This is now my go-to recipe for banana muffins. I made them over the holidays and my family loved them as well.

Note: Sorry I don’t have a photo – they’re on my backup memory stick somewhere, so when I find it I will add it 🙂

Here’s a link to the original recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/banana-muffins-ii/

Small Batch Vegan Banana Muffins

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 large bananas, mashed

1/4 cup white sugar

1 tbsp water mixed with 1 tsp ground flax seed

1 tablespoon and 2 teaspoons margarine, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Coat muffin pans with non-stick spray, or use paper liners. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside. Combine bananas, sugar, egg substitute, and melted margarine  in a large bowl. Fold in flour mixture, and mix until smooth. Scoop into muffin pans. Bake in preheated oven. Bake mini muffins for 10 to 15 minutes, and large muffins for 25 to 30 minutes. Muffins will spring back when lightly tapped. Makes 4 regular sized muffins.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

  2. Pingback: Small Batch Vanilla Cupcakes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

