RSS Feed

Baked Apple Chips

Is anyone else out there trying to take it easy on the sweets, leading up to Valentine’s day? I definitely am, because I was indulging a little too much over the past couple of weeks. I still want something sweet to eat after lunch or dinner, so I did a little searching for lighter desserts and found three to make and share with you guys. (I’ll do three separate posts).
The apple rings recipe was adapted from a couple of sites I found through Pinterest. I don’t have an apple corer so I just cut out any hard centres with a paring knife after I had sliced them. My sister bought me a mandoline slicer for Christmas and I’ve used it once before to slice a pear for a salad. I know that everyone who owns a mandoline has probably cut themselves at least once, but I thought I would last longer than two tries! Luckily it took mostly fingernail. It was right at the end of slicing the apple of course. Murphy’s law.

IMG_0235

IMG_0238

Apple Chips

2 large apples (I used a Gala)
ground cinnamon, to taste
brown sugar, to taste
cooking spray (optional)

Preheat the oven to 200 F to get it warmed for dehydrating the apple slices. Peel and core your apples. Slice the apples very thin, preferably using a mandoline. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray. Gently place the apples in a single layer, and spray with cooking spray if desired. Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, if desired, and place the pans in the oven. Flip apple slices every 30 minutes or so for a total of about 2.5 hours or until dry to the touch and edges are crinkled.

Note: Drying times will vary depending upon the thickness of your apple slices and the temperature of your oven. Watch carefully towards the end of the cooking time.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

