RSS Feed

Classic Meatloaf

I mentioned this when I first created this blog, that when I was in my 20’s I barely cooked any meals. I was always on a diet so meatloaf was definitely out of the question. This is only my second time trying to make it! I’m sure most of you already have a  meatloaf recipe you’ve learned from your Mom, but my grandfather was the cook in our house and he never ever made meatloaf.  For those of you out there who are just learning, like me, I think this recipe is a good place to start. I used only a pound of lean ground beef, whole wheat bread crumbs, and added only 1/2 cup of milk and it turned out moist, with lots of onion flavour.

If you have someone in your family that isn’t a fan of onions, usually because of the texture, I found this substitution info: Onion flakes (1 teaspoon onion powder = 1 tablespoon dried onion flakes) OR onion (1 teaspoon onion powder = 1/3 cup chopped onion)

IMG_0246

Classic Meatloaf

Source: Betty Crocker

1 1/2 lb lean (at least 80%) ground beef

1 cup milk

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground mustard

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 egg

3 slices bread, finely chopped (1 1/2 cups, lightly packed) or about 1/2 dried bread crumbs

1 small onion, chopped (1/4 cup)

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/2 cup ketchup, chili sauce or barbecue sauce

Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, mix all ingredients except ketchup. Spread mixture in ungreased 9×5-inch loaf pan, or shape into 9×5-inch loaf in ungreased 13×9-inch pan. Spread ketchup over top.

Insert meat thermometer so tip is in center of loaf. Bake uncovered 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes or until thermometer reads at least 160°F. Drain meat loaf.

Let stand 5 minutes; remove from pan.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

