RSS Feed

Skillet Chicken Mole

Chicken Mole is the only main dish I know of that features chocolate, and I’ve made a version before, but I wanted to try a new recipe, just to see if I was missing out on something. I found two that called for a few common ingredients; Slow Cooker Chicken Mole from Martha Stewart, and the other is Quick Chicken Mole from Eating Well. I used the preparation method and the 1 tablespoon of peanut butter from Eating Well and added it to Martha’s recipe to get the best of both worlds. I had about 3lbs of bone in thighs on hand so I browned them, then put the cover on the skillet and simmered them for another 30 minutes or so, then I added the other ingredients and simmered for another 15-20 minutes. I couldn’t find ancho chilis at my grocery store so I just omitted them and added 1 tablespoon of chili powder called for in the Eating Well version.  What I ended up with was a thick and creamy sauce with a hint of chocolate, rounded out nicely by the peanut butter. I served it over brown rice. Simply delicious!

Note: I forgot to take a picture…again, so enjoy this pretty pic from Martha Stewart.com 🙂

photo by Romulo Yanes for MarthaStewart.com

Skillet Chicken Mole

Prep Time 15 minutes Total Time: 1 hours Yield Serves 4

Ingredients

8 skinless chicken thighs

salt and pepper, to taste

1 can (28 ounces) crushed tomatoes or tomato sauce

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 small yellow onion, roughly chopped

1 large chipotle chile in adobo sauce

3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped (1/2 cup) or chocolate chips

3 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon of chili powder or to taste

Fresh cilantro leaves, for serving

Season chicken thighs with salt and pepper and brown in 12 inch skillet. Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes or until juices run clear. Add garlic and onion and cook until onion is translucent, about 1-3 minutes. Add spices and then the remaining ingredients. Simmer for another 15 minutes.

Serve chicken and sauce topped with cilantro.

Great Idea: Serve this dish over rice, or try it with Rice Pilaf with Peas and Almonds.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

