RSS Feed

Lentil and Ricotta Meatballs

I’ve been m.i.a. for the last few weeks because we had a death in the family. I was back in Labrador for 2 weeks so I wasn’t really cooking much at that time. Looking on the brighter side, I did have some really yummy food. I collected two new recipes: Mars Bar Squares and Partridge Berry (Lingonberry) Cake. I’ll post those a little later on. In  the meantime, here’s a recipe I tried before I left for my trip. Mr. M was over again so I took the opportunity to try another vegetarian meal. These “meatballs” were surprisingly filling and had a soft, fluffy texture. They cooked after only about 10 minutes so I would recommend turning after 5 minutes and watching them carefully. I  finely minced onion and mushrooms together, browned them, and added it to some tomato sauce to sneak in more veggie power.  I mixed it all together with some pasta shells and I think it turned out quite nice. Even my daughter liked this!

Finely minced mushrooms and onions

Finely minced mushrooms and onions

Veggie and tomato sauce

Veggie and tomato sauce

IMG_0253

You can see the inside of the meatball at the centre of this photo.

Lentil and Ricotta Meatballs

Adapted from Sprouted Kitchen and from The Starved Writer

2 cups of cooked green or brown lentils
2 eggs, beaten
3/4 cup of ricotta cheese
1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese
1 large clove of garlic, minced
1 tbsp of finely chopped parsley
1 tsp of salt
2/3 cup of breadcrumbs
1 tsp of black pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 400°F

2. In a blender, blend the lentils until they are mush.
3. Put the lentil mash in a large bowl and stir in the eggs, ricotta, parmesan, garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. Then stir in the breadcrumbs and let it all stand for about half an hour.
4. Now you can roll the lentil and ricotta mash into small balls, brush them with olive oil and place them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
5. Bake them in the oven for about 10 minutes or until the tops are golden brown. Then gently turn the lentil balls over halfway through baking and bake for another 10 or 15 minutes.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

