RSS Feed

Classic Crème Brûlée

Crème Brûlée is one of my all time favourite desserts but I’ve only made twice before. The problem was, I didn’t have a mini-torch, so I bought one specifically for making Crème Brûlée but then I was afraid to use it. Anything extremely flammable and explosive scares the heck out of me. I was convinced if I tried putting the butane canister onto the torch myself, the thing would explode in my face. It sat in my junk  drawer for years. Last year I decided to move it because I was afraid it was explode in the drawer and catch all my candles and such on fire, subsequently burning the whole house down. So…I moved them, and now I absolutely cannot remember where I put them!  This Easter I ended up making my Crème Brûlée under the broiler again and it does effect the texture somewhat, but it’s still  pretty darn delicious! So much so in fact, that I forgot to take photos before I scoffed them down. Oops. Please enjoy the lovely photos and step-by-step instructions from www.finecooking.com. This recipe in particular is great because it only makes four, and the instructions are very precise and clear. It takes the intimidation factor out of making this lovely classic dessert.

Link: http://www.finecooking.com/recipes/classic-creme-brulee.aspx

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

