RSS Feed

Toddler Muffins

IMG_0312

IMG_0308

IMG_0307

My daughter is becoming an extremely picky eater. All she wants to eat is Graduates Cheesies, yogurt, cheese, and bananas. I’ve been trying new foods and recipes but half the time I can’t get her to even try something, or I’ll manage to get it in her mouth only to have her spit it out. I did some searching online for toddler recipes and found this little gem on http://www.allrecipes.com – Toddler Muffins, which have banana, carrots and squash hidden inside.

A made a couple of small changes. Neither of us like a lot of spice so I cut the pumpkin pie spice amount in half. I only had baby carrots on hand so I grated about 14 of those in my blender to replace the 2 regular sized carrots, and I didn’t have oat bran so I used quick cook rolled oats instead. Maybe my pan is really mini or something but I managed to make 30 mini-muffins instead of 24, then baked them for 12 minutes, and they still turned out great!  These little morsels are soft and moist, not heavy or dense at all, and have a hint of sweetness. My daughter loved them! I’m not a fan of carrot cake, but even I like these muffins.  Perhaps I’ll make the full-sized muffins next time and ice them with cream cheese icing. Mmmmmm!

Toddler Muffins

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar, or to taste
2 large bananas, mashed
1 (4.5 ounce) jar baby food squash
2 carrots, grated
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup oat bran
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt

1. Preheat an oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease 24 mini muffin cups or 12 standard muffin cups.
2. In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar until smooth. Mix in the mashed bananas, squash, carrots, and eggs. Stir in the flour, oat bran, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, and salt until just combined. Spoon the batter equally into the prepared muffin cups.
3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes. Cool in the pans for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack. Store at room temperature for up to two days, or freeze.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

