RSS Feed

Simple Homemade Nutella

I think I’ve tried making Nutella twice before and one time I nearly destroyed my food processor trying to make hazelnut butter. This time I smartened up and bought some premade hazelnut butter from “Nuts to You Nut Butter Inc.” which I picked up at Market Organics in Ottawa’s Byward Market. This recipe from http://livinghealthywithchocolate.com is super simple. I only had regular sugar so I used that. To help incorporate it, I melted the coconut oil with the sugar in the microwave for about 20 seconds, stirred and zapped for another 20 seconds then added the vanilla and salt. Next I added the jar of nut butter and stirred that until smooth. Finally I added the cocoa and stirred until fully incorported. I found it wasn’t quite sweet enough for my liking so I added a packet of Krisda sweetener and that helped make it taste more like Nutella.

I find when you eat healthier food, especially those with less sugar, you don’t get that sugar high that causes you to crave more sweets. As a quick dessert I had two pieces of toast with homemade Nutella on top and I was stuffed afterwards. If that had been regular Nutella I could have eaten a whole loaf! lol

IMG_0333

IMG_0332

Healthy Homemade Nutella

1  jar hazelnut butter

2½ tbs raw cacao powder

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 tbs coconut oil, melted

3 tbs organic coconut palm sugar

pinch of salt

Mix the hazelnut butter with all the ingredients listed and store in an airtight glass jar.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

