RSS Feed

Mary Brown’s Fried Chicken Copycat

Ask anyone from Newfoundland and Labrador what’s their favourite fried chicken and 9 times of out 10 the answer will be Mary Brown’s.  ( Cue the 70’s sexist commercial jingle) “I’m in love with Mary Brown’s! She’s got the best legs in town!”  lol I found a recipe for the coating via Pampered chef, via facebook. The amount is massive but if you make fried chicken regularly than it’s convenient. I quartered the recipe and used it to coat two chicken breasts but I still had about a cup left. There are also a few recipes floating around for Popeye’s chicken, and KFC as well as another Newfoundland and Labrador recipe for Double Crunch Honey Garlic Chicken which I also used as inspiration. Tonight I used a mallet to flatten the chicken breasts to 1/2 inch thickness before marinating. After coating in the flour mixture as directed, I pan fried them for about 7 minutes a side, until they were a deep golden brown, then let them drain on paper towel for a couple of minutes before serving. It turned out pretty darn tasty! I’m not sure if it’s exactly like Mary Brown’s because my chicken was skinless and they probably cook it in a different type of oil, but I was pleased with the result. I will definitely make this again. I’m already thinking of ways to use up my leftover coating mix.

Sorry about the crappy photo. I almost forgot to take a picture so I quickly snapped a shot with my phone. The side dish is traditional Jigg’s Dinner.

photo

Homemade Mary Brown’s Fried Chicken

8 cups of Flour

1 tsp Cumin

3 Tbsp Oregano

1 Tbsp White Pepper 1/4 tsp

3 Tbsp Black Pepper scant tsp

1 Tbsp Cayenne Pepper 1/4 tsp

1/2 cup MSG 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp

1/2 cup Salt 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp

1 Tbsp Thyme 1/4 tsp

1 Tbsp Paprika 1/4 tsp

 

Mix together in an air tight container (this should be made at least 24 hours in advance for the spices to go through it).

Beat together 3 eggs and 1/3 water or milk.

Cut up a whole, skin on  chicken and marinade in about 1 quart/1 litre of buttermilk for at least an hour or more. (Cut breasts in half to help them cook faster)

Remove the chicken from the marinade and dredge in coating mixture.

Dip the chicken into the egg mixture, and then dredge again in the coating mixture. LET SIT UNTIL THE FLOUR IS OF A PASTE-LIKE CONSISTENCY. THIS IS CRUCIAL! Deep fry at 375 degrees until internal temperature reaches at least 165F. (About 10-15 minutes) Drain on paper towels.

Pan fry method: Add 1/2 to 3/4 inch oil to a large, heavy skillet. Heat to approximately 365 degrees F (185 degrees C). Place chicken pieces in hot oil. Cover, and fry until golden, turning once, 15 to 20 minutes. Drain on paper towels.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. That looks nothing like mary browns chicken. Your breading looks burnt and that looks nothing like a big mary or their fingers. Also you cant just pan fry it, they use sealed deep fryers. That is why your breading looks burnt. The marinade used in this recipe is not the proper marinade either. Speak for yourself when comparing this recipe to Mary Brown’s. I know this because I am a franchisee. And you also didn’t use a batter dip, this why the there is a small gap between the breading and the meat.

    Reply
    • Hi Sheldon, yes I mentioned in the blog post that it is pan fried instead of deep frying and its not exactly like Mary Brown’s but it’s a good place top start. I tried using the coating on pork chops a couple of days later and had trouble with it not sticking well. I didn’t realize it should be a batter. Thanks for the tip. You’ve inspired me to try deep frying it! Have a nice weekend. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

