RSS Feed

Chicken Fried Pork Chops

Well, I found another use for my chicken coating mix. I think this cooking method is a southern US specialty? I found it on the American food network website and it looked amazing. I used this recipe mainly as a guide for preparation and added the 1/2 a cup of cornstarch to my mix to see if it added crunch. I also threw caution to the wind and used half vegetable shortening and half vegetable oil. I’m not sure if it made a difference, but the pork was pretty good – very juicy on the inside. Next time I have to remember to add some extra spice to the mix to make up for the addition of cornstarch. The recipe comes with a Chunky Pear Chutney recipe but I didn’t have all the ingredients so I skipped it this time. It has great reviews though so I encourage anyone to try it and let me know how it goes.

On the side I decided to try replicating Mary Brown’s taters but baking them instead of deep frying, but I wasn’t happy with the result. I’ll try again later and let you know how it goes.

PENTAX Image

 

 

Chicken Fried Pork Chops

Adapted from recipe by Sunny Anderson, Food Network  Serves:4 to 6

Vegetable shortening, for frying
8 pork chops, bone-in, 1/2-inch thick
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, for seasoning, plus 1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 eggs
1 tablespoon water
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornstarch
Chunky Pear Chutney, recipe follows

Melt shortening in a deep skillet until it comes about 1-inch up the side of the pan. Heat to 360 degrees F.

While shortening is heating, season pork chops with salt and pepper on both sides, set aside. In a shallow bowl beat eggs, 1 tablespoon water, cayenne pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. In a paper bag mix flour and cornstarch. Coat pork chops in egg mixture, transfer to a paper bag, and shake until coated. Fry pork chops until golden, about 4 to 5 minutes per side. Transfer to a paper towel to drain. (Keep pork chops in a warm oven if cooking all at once is not possible.)

Complete recipe which includes Chunky Pear Chutney:      http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/cda/recipe_print/0,1946,FOOD_9936_334860_RECIPE-PRINT-FULL-PAGE-FORMATTER,00.html?oc=linkback

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

