RSS Feed

Oatmeal Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

I think I mentioned a while back that I have a new job. One of the perks is it’s proximity to Ottawa’s Byward Market. The market is stocked with fresh fruit and veggies all summer, and it’s shops, deli’s, restaurants, etc. are a foodie’s fantasy. One of my favourite places to get coffee and a sandwich is Plant Coffee, which is nestled within York Courtyard, Clarendon Lanes, just behind the Ottawa School of Art. I have probably raved about their grilled panini sandwiches and Oatmeal Peanut Butter Squares before so forgive me for repeating myself, but they really are that good.

I took a swing at recreating their squares last winter but it didn’t quite turn out, so I gave it another go with this recipe. It’s close. I think I may have creamed my butter and sugars too much because the cookie base rose a little too much and had air pockets throughout which caused it to crumble. I pressed the squares a little before I put them in the fridge and I think it helped. They were also missing something and I couldn’t put my finger on it at first, but then it hit me – salt! So I suggest you include 1/8- or 1/4 tsp of salt depending on your preference. I think anything with oatmeal in it really needs the enhancement. The chocolate and peanut butter topping is amazing! I used milk chocolate chips but you could use semi-sweet instead to up the chocolate flavour. I would make this again.

Oatmeal peanut butter chocolate squares

Oatmeal Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

Adapted from Bakingblonde

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg

2 cups old fashioned oats

1 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream the butter, sugars and vanilla in a bowl. Add in the egg and beat well.

Add in the oats and mix with a spatula until well blended.

Spread out evenly in an 8″ x 8″ baking pan and bake for about 20 minutes, until just golden. Let cool slightly before frosting.

Wipe out the oatmeal bowl and add the chocolate chips and peanut butter. Microwave on short bursts, stirring until the chocolate just melts and the mix is smooth and creamy.

Spread over the partially cooled base.

Refrigerate until completely firm, several hours. Enjoy straight from the refrigerator.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

