RSS Feed

Daphne Oz’s Sweet and Spicy Baked Wings

Last week the weather really warmed up here and my backyard is starting to shape up. I bought a dining tent so that we can lounge out there without my irrational fear of being stalked and killed by wasps or some other flying bugs! I have some patio furniture out there so I decided to invite my buddy Mr. M over for an early summer dinner, al fresco style but Ottawa weather would not cooperate. The temperatures are soaring to 37 degrees celcius which is 98-99 fahrenheit but…thunderstorms 😦 . I really wanted to make chicken wings so I said, what the heck, I’ll make everything anyway. Unfortunately, I don’t have a barbeque yet so I thought I’d try out a recipe I saw on The Chew. Daphne Oz, who’s role on the show is to introduce us to healthier ways of cooking, had a wing cook-off with Michael Symon and she made these wings. My grocery store was out of wings so I actually made this with boneless, skinless thighs and it was yummy. I forgot to put the garlic in the marinade so I added it before cooking. I think it would have been even better if I had added it at the beginning.  The sauce did get sweet and sticky and I only put half the chili powder in so it wasn’t hot at all so next time I’ll add the whole amount. I didn’t have hot sauce because I don’t like super spicy food, so for the dip I just added hot pepper flakes. I found the dip recipe had a lot of ginger, but if you like ginger then you’re in luck. I will probably make the wings again and skip the dipping sauce.

Again I apologize for the crappy photo. So often I forget to get things set up to take photos of main dishes and then I end up partially eating my dinner before remembering to take a pic.

IMG_0444

Daphne Oz’s Sweet and Spicy Baked Wings

Ingredients
For the Wings:
2 dozen Chicken Drumettes
1/2 cup Olive Oil
1/4 cup Rice Vinegar
1 teaspoon crushed Red Pepper
1/2 cup Honey
2 tablespoons low sodium Soy Sauce
1/2 teaspoon Chili Powder
1 teaspoon Dijon Mustard 2 Garlic cloves (minced)
Salt and Pepper to taste

For the Dipping Sauce:
1 tablespoon Sambal Chili
1/2 cup Honey
2 tablespoons Low Sodium Soy Sauce
1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard
1 teaspoon grated Ginger

For the Wings:
Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and toss the wings to coat. Place in the refrigerator and marinate a minimum of two hours and preferably over night.
Salt and Pepper to taste Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Remove drumettes from the marinade and season with salt and pepper.
Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and arrange the drumettes so they are not touching. Brush generously with the leftover marinade. Cook in the oven for about 40 minutes, or until deep golden brown, rotating the tray half way through.

For the Dipping Sauce: While the wings are baking, combine all the dipping ingredients and whisk together.
Serve the chicken drumettes with the dipping sauce.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

