RSS Feed

Sausage and Caramelized Onion Pizza

Since I’ve discovered homemade pizza dough I’m unstoppable! I made some a couple of weeks ago, portioned it out to make personal pizzas and froze it, then thawed one in the fridge overnight. Sausage was on sale at Farm Boy so I wanted to make something with it. I was inspired by this recipe for Caramelized Onion Gruyere and Sausage Panini from Fine Cooking Magazine. The panini is the best sandwich I’ve ever eaten – seriously! So I figured making it into a pizza would have to be pretty darn good too. I didn’t have gruyere so I used havarti and the sausage was smoked pork sausage not chicken sausage but it was still really good. I slathered the dough with barbeque sauce, topped with the sausage, onions, and havarti then popped it in the oven for 15 minutes. Yum!

I’ve tried making caramelized onions before but I never seemed to get it right. This time I was patient and let it cook for the recommended 45 minutes and it was worth it. Here’s a recipe you can use again and again for other dishes.

caramelized onion sausage pizza

Caramelized Onions

1 Tbsp unsalted butter

1 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp light brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

2 lbs onions, cut into 1/4 inch thick strips

1 Tsp water

Heat butter and oil in a 12 inch skillet over high heat and stir in sugar and salt. Add onions and stir to coat. Cook until onions begin to soften – about 5 minutes. Reduce heat to medium and cook, stirring frequently until onions are deeply brown and slightly sticky – about another 40 minutes. Remove from heat and add water. Add pepper to taste. They can be refrigerated for up to a week.

Source: Cook’s Illustrated

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

