RSS Feed

Back from Vacation

My daughter and I went back to Labrador to visit my family last week. Ohhh man the FOOD!! Not only did I have Mom’s homecooking of course, I got to enjoy food products that are difficult or impossible to find in the rest of Canada like Lee’s chocolate snowballs, Purity Brand Rum and Butter Kisses, and Charleston Chews chocolate bars. We also have the fried chicken chain Mary Brown’s which I posted about a while back. It’s Atlantic salmon fishing time so I had pan fried salmon a few times, and my Mom made Cloudberry/Bakeapple pie…MMMMMMmmmmm!! A had a big feast of roast Canada Goose with Jigg’s Dinner and my aunt Melva made giant Bakeapple Cream Puffs. I ate two.  We had a big breakfast at our summer cabin as well with eggs, bacon and sausages. On the ferry to my hometown they serve only diner style foods like burgers and fries. We had two days of that. Needless to say, I gained weight. My insides were not happy with me either because I wasn’t used to all the grease.

This week it’s detox time. I really like the www.toneitup.com girls Karena and Katrina. The workouts are great, and now I’m giving the recipes a try. Last night I made Stuffed Portobello mushrooms. I question the ingredient amounts because it called for 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup of quinoa. I didn’t want to use most of my vinegar on one serving so I just glugged the vinegar on top of my mushrooms. After making the quinoa I couldn’t fit it all in the mushroom cap so I think that measurement might be off.  But the flavour of the whole dish was pretty good, especially for a “diet” meal. I would tweak this a little and make it again.

3b4d2_5427

Stuffed Portobello

1 large portobello mushroom mushroom cap
2 Tbs. orange bell pepper, diced
2 Tbs. red bell pepper, diced
1/4 Cup quinoa
1/2 Cup Balsamic Vinegar
Juice from 1 Lemon
1 Tbs. black pepper

In a small bowl mix balsamic vinegar, lemon juice and black pepper. Brush mixture over portobello mushroom cap on both sides until completely coated. Set mushrooms aside and save excess marinating liquid.

Cook quinoa according to package instructions. When it’s about two minutes till done, stir in the red and orange
peppers. Remove quinoa and peppers from heat and scoop the mixture into the under side of the portobello
mushroom cap. Drizzle your now stuffed mushrooms and filling with the remaining marinating liquid. Spray baking dish
with fat-free cooking spray and place mushroom in the dish. Cook in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes or until
mushrooms are tender and juicy. Remove from heat and serve.
*Instead of Baking you can cook the stuff mushrooms on the grill for about 15 minutes. You may want to keep the
extra marinade on hand and drizzle the mushrooms with it from time to time to keep them from drying out.

74905_10151751813591054_828382512_n

Mom’s Bakeapple Pie – This one may not be beautifully styled but it’s delicious!

snookscove

Miss M. at our summer place.

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

