RSS Feed

Ginger Sesame Chicken

My friend Mr. M came over the other night to help with yard work and I had some chicken breasts in the fridge so I decided to make this recipe for us from the Tone it Up nutrition plan. I’m so glad I did! You would never say it was a “diet” recipe. My friend gobbled it up pretty fast! It had tons of flavour from the sesame oil and ginger. It calls for quite a lot of soya sauce/tamari but I didn’t want to use practically a quarter of a bottle of the stuff so I used about 2 Tbsp and it still turned out great. I don’t have a barbeque so I used the stovetop method. For a quick side I made some brown rice cooked in chicken broth with onions, garlic and diced broccoli stalks. Little Miss M. also loved everything and ate nearly an adult sized portion of it ūüôā

I must apologize yet again for the not so nice photograph. I only remembered after I had eaten nearly half of it.

heather_plate

Ginger Sesame Chicken

Makes one serving.

4 oz. lean chicken breast
¬ľ cup tamari or soya sauce
1 tsp. grated ginger
2 Tbs. sesame seeds
1 Tbs. Sesame Oil
1 clove of garlic, minced

Cut chicken into small chunks or thin strips and place in a bowl. Mix remaining ingredients together in a separate bowl. Pour the mixture from the bowl directly on to meat. Toss to make sure all pieces are evenly covered. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and allow to chill for at least 30 minutes to marinate.

To Grill: Remove chicken from bowl and place on wooden skewer and cook over medium heat for 5 to 10 minutes, turning several times until browned on all sides and cooked through.
On Stovetop: Spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray. Add marinated chicken from bowl into skillet and cook on medium-high, stirring constantly to brown on all sides. Continue cooking/stirring for about 7 minutes until evenly browned and cooked through.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. This looks so easy and so delicious!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

