RSS Feed

Spaghetti with Tuna, Lemon, and Breadcrumbs

Since I am currently unemployed again I am on the lookout for inexpensive and easy lunch ideas. I came across this recipe while watching Everyday Food with Sarah Carey online here: http://www.marthastewart.com/946620/everyday-food-sarah-carey. She raves about it but I must say I wasn’t completely blown away. It’s a simple, light meal, great for those days when you’re not really in the mood to cook. I don’t like olives so I used capers instead, and I added a little garlic powder to my breadcrumbs to amp up the flavor. I ended up with way too much spaghetti so I have a feeling I’m going to be making a couple of spaghetti frittatas in the near future.

photo (6)

Spaghetti with Tuna, Lemon, and Breadcrumbs

Coarse salt and ground pepper
2 slices whole-wheat sandwich bread
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon olive oil
3/4 pound spaghetti
1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest, plus 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
3 tablespoons slivered Kalamata olives
2 cans (6 ounces each) chunk light tuna in water, drained

STEP 1
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Meanwhile, in a food processor, pulse bread and 1 teaspoon oil until coarse crumbs form. Spread on a rimmed baking sheet; season with salt and pepper. Bake until golden, tossing occasionally, 6 to 8 minutes.

STEP 2
Cook pasta in boiling water until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup pasta water; drain pasta, and return to pot. Add lemon zest and juice, parsley, olives, and 1 tablespoon oil; toss, adding enough pasta water to coat. Add tuna; toss gently. Serve sprinkled with breadcrumbs.

SOURCE: Everyday Food, January 2009

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

