RSS Feed

Chicken and Broccoli Stir-fry

Stir-fries were probably one of the first things I learned how to make when I started living on my own. I no longer use  recipe but when I need a reminder of how much soy sauce to add for example, I go back to this basic Betty Crocker recipe from the Big Red Cookbook I bought in 2001. I use it so much the back cover has fallen off! I think it’s a good cookbook for someone just starting out on their own.  The ladies from Anna and Kristina’s Grocery Bag agree with me with regards to the 10th edition of this publication, although their final verdict states the dishes lack flavor!  Personally, I think this stir-fry hits the spot.  My Dad requests it whenever I go home to Labrador. 🙂

If you’re as addicted to cookbooks as I am, the Grocery Bag site is great when you want to check out how the recipes stack up when made in a home kitchen.

IMG_0695

Chicken and Broccoli Stir-fry

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 teaspoons finely chopped gingerroot
1 medium onion, cut into thin wedges
1 cup baby-cut carrot, cut lengthwise in half
1 cup Progresso® chicken broth (from 32-ounce carton)
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons sugar
2 cups broccoli flowerets
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms (3 ounces)
1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 cup hot cooked Chinese plain noodles

Spray 12-inch nonstick skillet with cooking spray; heat over medium-high heat. Add chicken, garlic and gingerroot; stir-fry 2 to 3 minutes or until chicken is brown.
Add onion, carrots, 3/4 cup of the broth, the soy sauce and sugar. Cover and cook over medium heat 5 minutes, stirring twice.
Add broccoli, mushrooms and bell pepper. Cover and cook about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until chicken is no longer pink in center and vegetables are crisp-tender.
Mix cornstarch with remaining 1/4 cup broth; stir into chicken mixture. Cook, stirring frequently, until sauce is thickened. Serve over noodles.

Makes 4 servings

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

