RSS Feed

Lasagne Formaggio

I was going through my old food magazines a few days ago and stumbled upon this recipe in one of the Kraft Whats Cooking magazines. I rarely make anything from them because they rely so much on pre-made Kraft products, but the only products this one calls for their brand of cheese products. The recipe says it only takes a little over an hour to make but I don’t know if it’s misleading or if I’m just super slow. It took me close to an hour just to prepare all the parts and throw it in the oven.  I forgot to drain my tomatoes so I let it simmer a little longer to boil off some of the liquid. It doesn’t say when to cook the noodles, but I prepared mine just after making the cheese mixture, and I think I cooked the meat a little longer because ground beef makes me paranoid about germs. I also used fresh parmesan so I need to factor in time to grate the cheese. That being said, I think it was worth the effort. The cheese layer so so rich and creamy and I love the change from ricotta. I would definitely make this again.

lasagne formaggio

I am so not a food stylist!

Lasagne Formaggio

1 lb. (450 g) extra-lean ground beef
1 onion, chopped
1 pkg. (250 g) Philadelphia Light Brick Cream Cheese Spread, softened
1 cup low-fat cottage cheese
2 cups Kraft 4 Cheese Italiano Light Shredded Cheese, divided
1/2 cup Kraft 100% Parmesan Light Grated Cheese, divided
1 egg, beaten
1 jar (700 mL) pasta sauce
1-1/2 cups no-salt-added diced tomatoes, drained
1/2 tsp. dried oregano leaves
12 lasagne noodles, cooked

HEAT oven to 350°F.

BROWN meat with onions in large skillet. Meanwhile, mix cream cheese spread, cottage cheese, 1-1/2 cups shredded cheese, 1/4 cup Parmesan and egg until well blended.

DRAIN meat; return to skillet. Stir in pasta sauce, tomatoes and oregano; simmer 5 min. Remove from heat. Spoon 1 cup meat sauce onto bottom of 13×9-inch baking dish; top with layers of 3 lasagne noodles, 1 cup cheese mixture and 1 cup meat sauce. Repeat layers twice. Top with remaining noodles, meat sauce, shredded cheese and Parmesan; cover.

BAKE 50 min. or until heated through, uncovering after 40 min. Let stand 10 min. before cutting to serve.

Kraft kitchens tips: Spray the foil with cooking spray before using to cover the lasagne to help prevent the foil from sticking to the melted cheese on the baked lasagne.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

