Homemade Play Dough

I think I mentioned a while back that my daughter is going to a licensed daycare now and they allowed me to hang out with her for a while during the first couple of days to help her adjust. One day that brought out some homemade play dough for the kids. It inspired me to try making some of it at home. I found this recipe online and gave it a try. It turned out perfectly! It feels exactly like store bought Play-Doh! I wanted to make mine purple because it’s one of Miss M’s favourite colours and it takes ALOT of food colouring! (about couple of teaspoons or so) I kept adding more, and more, and more until finally it was this weird mauve grey. I don’t know if it was just the lighting or if this actually happened, but it seems like the colour intensified once I let it sit a while. I rather like it now. The little miss loves this play dough and we had fun cutting out shapes with it for about 1/2 an hour or so when she woke up from her nap.

Don’t be intimidated – it’s super easy to make!

homemade play-doh

Play Dough

1 cup white flour
1/2 cup salt
2 tablespoon cream of tartar (find it in the spice section)
1 tablespoon oil
1 cup water
food coloring

Mix first 4 ingredients in a pan. Add water and mix well. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, for 3 – 5 minutes. Dough will become difficult to stir and form a “clump”.  Remove from stove and knead for 5 minutes–add food coloring during kneading process. Play dough will keep for a long time stored in a covered plastic container or plastic sandwich bag.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a comment